First time poster - 9LB Pork Shoulder

Jasong165

MemberGot rid of the matchlight.
Hello all,

First time poster here. I've been lurking on this site for quite a while and enjoy reading the suggestions and drooling over all the delicious Q pictures y'all post.

I'm somewhat new to the smoke scene, I've only been doing it a few times a year. Previous to this year I was using a home built offset smoker made out of old air tanks. It was a project we did for my buddies bachelor party to use to smoke a small whole hog. It works ok but over the years it's become rusted and it takes bags and bags of lump to maintain temp.

This year I decided to purchase the Char Griller Akorn as a replacement and have been pretty happy thus far. It's pretty amateur level I know but I needed a grill replacement as well so I went for dual purpose. So far I've done a few racks of ribs and tried my first brisket ever a month ago and was pleased with the results.

Today I decided to do some pulled pork for the Birds game. Bought a 9lb shoulder at Wegmans and didn't do anything fancy. Coated the outside with some canola oil and put a coat of Sweet Rub of Mine on it. I threw it on the Akorn using Royal Oak lump and some hunks of hickory and apple at 3am with a target temp of 225-240. To say I missed my mark would be an understatement. Temps started out at 230 but kept going up to about 265 about 2hrs in. They were holding steady so I took some cat naps. About 4 hrs in, temp climbed up to 295 before falling back to 265 at the 6 hr mark. Right at 6 hrs, internal temp hit 203 and I pulled it. I didn't grab any prep pics but threw one of the finished product on here.

I have yet to have a successful time keeping the Akorn steady below 250. Maybe I'm using too much lump? Maybe I'm not shutting it down early enough? Thankfully with shoulders you can cheat a bit but I would love to learn to dial this thing in at 225 for once.

Any feedback or suggestions would be appreciated.

Attachments