Duke City Trisket Shenanigans - w/ Pr0n!

ShadowDriver

somebody shut me the fark up.
Name or Nickame
Marc
Mornin', folks!

Started the day watching a whole squadron of hot air balloons lifting off before the sun topped the Sandias.

07g5k8Hl.jpg

8gce2iYl.jpg

It's going to be rather nice today at 71F, but do you see what's forecasted for Tues Night - Weds!? :shock: :crazy: :roll:

H1EhyRUm.jpg

I've never tried a trisket before... Only tried a traditional tritip once or twice.

Here goes nothing. Using Adkins, my go-to brisket rub. Couldn't find any prime grade tritip at Costco, so here's some choice grade. Quite lean vs. brisket, so am concerned about her getting dry.

YookcHrl.jpg

This one has a bit of fat on the back, so that'll help a bit.

vtfdq1el.jpg

SnS warming up in the 26er. Hickory for smoke with mesquite lump from El Super Meximart.

Thoughts / suggestions / other words of wisdom on my first trisket attempt are welcomed and appreciated.

More to follow.

Put the tritip on to cook. No, it's not over the coals... that's just some partially consumed charcoal from my last Vortex cook. SnS is over on the other side of the kettle.

SW5PVkel.jpg

Got the boiling water in the SnS, and she's running around 250.

MUST wrap it or it WILL dry out... usual timing for wrap (stall/color). Usual probe tender for done. Does NOT tolerate longer rests as well as brisket without the mass so if you finish early recommend an ‘active’ rest in oven around 185 or so. Same for pre slice waiting I counter... 10-15 mins in my experience or it looses too much heat.

Love trisket.... hmmmmmmm

Awesome stuff, Wookiee! That's just what I needed. In that case, I might have started a little early? We'll see how it plays out.