Shirley fabrication changes...

Beentown

is Blowin Smoke!
Reaction score
I see a lot of guys are in line for a Shirley and it got me to thinking if I were in their shoes what I would change on my rig if I could. And it wasn't too cost prohibitive. I have a 24x60 trailer model with warmer and cabinet doors.

20150507_154448_zps4m9caa2n.jpg

The changes I would make would be:

- Small shelf on the back of the main cook chamber for holding temp gauges with two or three probe inserts.

- Extra shelf for the main chamber.

- Charcoal pan for the main chamber so I could use it for direct cooking.

Another change I may want once it gets colder is for an insulated firebox but I have my UDS and Pitmaster for then I guess.

Any changes you would make to your Shirley if you were on the wait list?

I have one almost identical to yours and agree with everything you have said. Insulated firebox, shelf on the back for probes, and larger trailer with more storage...

I don't find myself using the warmer at all but I know a lot of people do. I might even not have the warmer and just get a larger main chamber.

Stainless shelf is a must! Much easier to clean than expanded steel. Cabinet doors are easy on the shoulders and adds a little grate area. Oh, and bump it up to a 30x90 with a 6' wide trailer.:whoo:I'm just sayin'...

Attachments

• IMG_8268.jpg
    IMG_8268.jpg
    71.8 KB · Views: 629
I think I am going to make a lip around my shelf so I can put cutting boards on it.

I think I am going to make a lip around my shelf so I can put cutting boards on it.

Before I upgraded to stainless, I had planned on drilling some holes in a few cutting boards and mounting them on the shelf with bolts and wing nuts. If you put a damp dishrag on the expanded steel shelf your cutting boards won't slide. Give that a shot before you pull out the welder.