3 Drum Timeline

Ron_L

Administrator
Staff member
Reaction score
Can anyone cooking on three drums give me an idea of your timeline, temps and where you put each meat? We have a practice cook coming up and I have a couple of timelines worked out on paper (well, OK, Excel :-D) but some real life experience would be great!

Thanks!

Im new to competing so this might change/might not be right, but here is what I do.

-Brisket (single can)(300-350)
on at 7:00 A.M

-Pork (300-325)
3 Butts, MM towards each other

-Chicken(below pork, if pork is still on, and it always is so far)(275-300)
on at 10:30A.M

-Ribs- Single Can
On at 9:00 A.M(300, I lower the temp to 250-275 when I wrap the ribs)

I've heard of some people getting off flavors from putting pork on their chicken drum, I haven't ran into that. I've tried running pork/chicken under brisket and I didn't like it as much, I'm sure It would work fine for most people too.

Im new to competing so this might change/might not be right, but here is what I do.

-Brisket (single can)(300-350)

-Pork (300-325)
3 Butts, MM towards each other

-Chicken(below pork, if pork is still on, and it always is so far)(275-300)
on at 10:30A.M

-Ribs- Single Can
On at 9:00 A.M(300, I lower the temp to 250-275 when I wrap the ribs)

I've heard of some people getting off flavors from putting pork on their chicken drum, I haven't ran into that. I've tried running pork/chicken under brisket and I didn't like it as much, I'm sure It would work fine for most people too.

U are running some serious temps there. Running everything over 300 would make competition cooks much quicker. :)

rb

I light pork and brisket pits at 5:15, meats on at 6. I take pork off, clean the basket, and start a new fire for chicken.

I light pork and brisket pits at 5:15, meats on at 6. I take pork off, clean the basket, and start a new fire for chicken.

That's pretty much what I was thinking. I hate getting up that early :-D