Gathering Advice

backdraftbbq

Full Fledged Farker
Reaction score
I'm new to the competition and just finished my 3rd and final one for the year. I've done OK and need to work on things and I figure now is the time to research and improve. I currently have one Rec Tec RT-680 pellet smoker and plan on getting an additional smoker, not sure which one yet. I also plan on getting some sort of a trailer. I know there is an abundance of knowledge on this forum and plenty of opinions. While there probably isn't a definitive answer to this question, I'm curious to hear from people that consistently do well, is there any advice that you can share? Where is my money best spent, in a trailer or smoker or a balance between the two? So many options out there. Thank you in advance for taking the time to reply.

planning on the following;

1) being told that you could have done a search and found "an abundance of information" lol

2) plan on spending a butt load of money

3) plan on making sure your wife is all in on your upgrading your BBQ rig so you can do it proper.

4) plan on receiving a multitude of opinions.

as for me, I am relatively new at this as well.......i went all in 1.5 years ago and got a myron mixon mms-48 smoker and a 12 foot enclosed cargo trailer to haul things in, including the smoker. I love the smoker and the trailer is cool.

with that said, after going around some comps and checking out other rigs and setups AND literally dealing with some of the worst rain in recorded history at our comps and some high winds, I can tell you without hesitation that my advice to you is based on how far you want to go with this and how much money are capable of spending.

we do tents and have the trailer, smoker and a portable sink. we setup our town tables and and just take it form there. it works well but you are still quite a bit in the elements, even with sides on your tents and portable heaters. and when it's hot there is no escaping it.