THE BBQ BRETHREN FORUMS

Welcome to The BBQ Brethren Community. Register a free account today to become a member and see all our content. Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

A little clarification:
Ground beef aka hamburger is not steak (no matter what cut of meat is ground).
The state of NC has now stipulated that unless the beef is ground on premises then the restaurant cannot serve it below medium-well.

While I am not a proponent of anyone telling me how to eat my meat, I am a huge fan of this new regulation.

Ground beef is a great way to get e-coli and other nasty stuff. If can happen during the grind, and even more so after the grind.

So If I go into a restaurant and they tell me they have to cook it med-well, that also tells me their meat is not ground fresh and we are putting our trust in their food service suppliers.
Yea med-well sounds good.

Now steak is a different story, if any restaurant wants to prepare me anything above med-rare, I know one of two things.
1. The steak is so thin, they cant cook it below medium.
2. The chef is an idiot.

Now in the finer establishments that grind their own beef, give me that sucker medium rare.

Steaks: rare side of medium rare.
Prime rib: rare (130 internal)
You'll get no argument from me.
A medium rare burger anywhere else will get me doing a Brave Sir Robin.<sound of coconut shell halves clapping>
That IS a good regulation!:thumb:

Who cares , this horse has been rode to death if you want your steak rare cook it at home ,Just because you like your steak rare doesn't mean you are a food expert or have some special taste buds, maybe if your steak is dried out when cooking med. well you should improve your cooking skills I never have that problem.

There is a local market in my town that sells irradiated ground beef. you can eat that stuff raw if you want.

A little clarification: