Cold weather charcoal grilling

Jim_MI

Found some matches.
Name or Nickame
Jim
Total grilling newbie here. I live in Northern Michigan where current temps are well below freezing. Most of my grilling is done with propane in summer but I pull my grill indoors in winter to protect it. I miss grilled meals in winter, though. So this winter I wanted to try doing some simple things over charcoal. I purchased a small really cheap kettle-type charcoal grill. I have only used it a few times, but find that using a large bed of Webber hot charcoal just does not provide sufficient heat. It takes forever to cook things and I have to keep the lid closed down tightly to keep the heat in. Consequently, the steak (burgers, chicken, etc) have an overwhelmingly strong smoke taste.
Is there a "hotter burning" brand of charcoal I could try?
Other ideas?

Sent from my SM-G970U1 using Tapatalk

I have found B & B briquettes burn hotter than Kingsford and also lump will burn hotter just not as long. I am also a Michigan guy and most Ace hardware have B & B and Home Depot's have Royal Oak lump. Give them a try.

Depending on what you're cooking, I might also suggest a Vortex to help provide more control for your heat.

It generally does great with high indirect radiant heat on the sides, but also some killer direct over the top.

She's done really well down into the 20s and 10s on the NM High Plains... but I don't have grilling experience with her North of NE Indiana.

Just something to consider.