Hello from Scandinavia!

Repscallion

MemberGot rid of the matchlight.
Name or Nickame
Casper
Hi y'all (love that its gender neutral:razz:)

Im a danish chef new to the world of BBQ and smoking, just got an used big ol' (american) offset smoker. Very excited about venturing into the great field of smoking meats.

I work with a new brewery that wants to start doing BBQ for our new taphouse, beer and meat - a classic combo. Im a total noob, but thats the best place to start I think - and this is a great place for me to start learning from the best!

Right now everything is under lockdown, so no bars, restaurants etc are allowed to be open, but spring is around the corner and we, like everyone else can’t wait for some sun, a cold beer and some great food in friends company! In the beginning it will be mostly outside, maybe 100-150 guests and hopefully well expand.

Originally we were looking at an Oyler 1300, because we wanted to be ambitious, but reality was that lead time and price was a little too much. We found a (alot!) cheaper alternative in this used bad boy. It was rusty, berried in the bag of barn filled with junk, but we though the quality looked alright, size was good and price was realistic. Asking price 3200$ and we got it for 2200$.

(I don't know if I should post all of this stuff here or make a seperate post?)

Status right now is that I’ve hosed it down with a pressure cleaner to get the worst dirt/grease and rust out. And got a price for 900$ for sandblasting and painted! (great then I don’t have to spend a week achieving a ****ty result! And then when I get it back ill season the inside and fire it up and I’m ready to start testing and getting to know it.

Tbh I dont have any experience bbq’ing/smoking other than backyard grilling, but I am a chef. So reading books, forums and watching youtube is my plan. Any recommendations?