• working on DNS.. links may break temporarily.

How much meat to feed 100-125 people

Dirt Road BBQ

Got Wood.
Reaction score
I've been asked to barbecue for our HOA picnic. They are expecting between 100 and 125 people. I will be responsible for the meat and then it will be potluck for sides and desserts. I was thinking I would need 4-5 14lbs briskets and 6 8lbs pork butts. They may also want ribs. I have the capacity to cook all 3 types of meat, but just don't know for sure what quantities I need of each.

Thanks for your help!

Ryan

My math (which I am still learning) figures you would be feeding a 1/2 pound of delish to each person...

Unless the HOA is the Hearty Overeaters of America; this seems a bit high.:-D

*Edited for smiley content

Is it a "serve yourself" type deal? Because I normally can get 18-24 pulled pork sammiches when smoking an 8lb butt. However, that's using the regular sized buns, not the huge, seeded variety.

Yes, it will be a serve yourself meal. They're not really sure how many people will attend. We have almost 200 homes in our neighborhood, but historically they've only had about 100+ attend. This year they've pushed it back later in the year, so we will have cooler weather in the hopes we will get better attendance. I would rather err on the side of too much meat, than too little.

Yes, it will be a serve yourself meal. They're not really sure how many people will attend. We have almost 200 homes in our neighborhood, but historically they've only had about 100+ attend. This year they've pushed it back later in the year, so we will have cooler weather in the hopes we will get better attendance. I would rather err on the side of too much meat, than too little.