LSG 20 x 42

davewest

Found some matches.
Reaction score
Hi everyone, I ordered a 20 x 42 new design offset from LSG, are current owners still liking them, I am coming from a 16 x 36 offset and am tired of fighting it, I just want to make sure the 20 x 42 will draft well and maintains clean fire and temp, provide I do my part. I could still change my order to the 24 x 36 LSG pipe smoker. Thanks for any input

Dave

I would stick with the 20x42. I ordered one a little over a week ago. Thought for a second about getting another LSG 24x48, but remembered how much I hated tuning plates and will never own one again from anyone with tuning plates.

They are well made smokers and Chris Goodlander provides great customer service. I am still learning to control the temp on mine especially when the wind is up but find it does maintain temp well. Good Luck, live well and Happy Easter.

I got my 20 x 42 a few weeks ago. I am for all intents and purposes a rookie stick burner user but this cooker makes me look like an old pro. The smoker is everything it’s advertised to be. Drafts extremely well and runs off of next to no fuel. I’m talking like one 3”-4” x 12” mini split per hour to maintain 275 degrees. You will not regret the purchase.

Dave,

If you can, order a 24 x 48 .....

A 36 is way too short and a 42 add only six inches.
You WILL lose real estate to the firebox side, that is just a fact ...

Also ... depending on how 'serious' you are .... the firebox lid is up for a strong debate - to include or not include.

No matter what anyone will tell you it will cook very differently without it vs. with it ......
I owned a Klose ... same style pit all the way around ... had the lid ... and could never control my temperature.
Many kept saying 'you have leaks, you have uncontrolled air' ... I thought, no I do not.

Finally, I had someone weld the FB lid shut ... .. removed the handle, removed the hinges, put two nice beads all the way around nicely. Welded Shut.