Sauce....make it or buy it?

T

Tommieblue

I am new to the KCBS competition. and the Menomonee Falls, WI chapter was totally awesome along with every one competing knowing that I was the newbie and getting my butt kicked. Just wanted to know what the general feeling is on sauce. Do you make it, buy it, or buy it and put your own spin on it?

Welcome, Tommieblue -

I've always used store bought sauce because there's so much of it that's so good!

What I did was try several combinations of completely different styles of store bought sauces until I finally found the combination that won.

In the end, it tastes A LOT like Head Country, as I eventually found out.

The way I knew what I was shooting for was to judge a lot of competitions . . . and learn what most of the judges like best.

Could of saved a lot of experimenting if I would have found Head Country first . . .

Anyway - I'm sure you'll find a lot of different advice here - but that's what I did, for what it's worth.

P.S. And don't worry about being the newbie and getting your butt kicked. That's all part of the fun - finding your way. I competed on two teams for five years before I finally won two categories.

We started out using commercial sauces...then embellishing them...now we make our own...:cool: I guess it's a progressive thing...:becky:

I tried my own sauces during practice runs but couldn't bring myself to use it in competition. It just wasn't as good as comercial.
I use several combinations of Blues Hog Original, Tennessee Red and Head Country with a few touches of my own. First two competitions had 2 walks and a call :becky:.

I buy sauces and add my twist to it...ALOT cheaper and easier!!!!!! :thumb:

Why reinvent the wheel. Buy a sauce and add to it to make it your own or use it as is.

I make my own and I can say (for me) I get more satisfaction when I win knowing that I am using my own sauces and rubs.