The Obligatory CyberQ Wifi Infrastructure SOS

Tal

Found some matches.
Reaction score
Ok - SOOOOOOO.....

I broke down after a great deal of research and ordered the CyberQ-Wifi and was prepared for a challenge in terms of setting up infrastructure mode.

I'm not a total novice with computers or networks, but here is what happened -

I first hooked it up in Ad Hoc mode - no worries. Everything worked just fine.

Then, I got brave and followed Naked Whiz's instructions for setting up infrastructure mode. Things were going just fine - his post and pics were extremely helpful, and going as prescribed.

I got an IP address and verified by entering that IP address into my browser and all was well. I was pleased, and pridefully chuckling to myself as I thought of all the posts from people saying how difficult this was.

THEN, I got the the next step - I used my NETGEAR control panel to dedicate the IP address for my CyberQ. Everything seemed fine.

THEN - I did the same with the port forwarding and everything went in the tank. The internet here has been spotty to non-existent ever since. I have rebooted the router - and reset the router and the modem. It will work fine for a while, and then the internet goes down again.

My computer says I'm still connected to the internet, but I cannot navigate anywhere.

I undid the port forwarding - same problem.
I undid the dedicated IP address - same problem.

I unplugged the CyberQ and things worked fine - for a while and then the same thing started happening. Internet just continues to go out.

In a last ditch, I just reset the CyberQ to adhoc mode and unplugged it again. That is what has bought me the time to write this post.

Any advice/wisdom/guidance you have for me would be MOST welcomed!

I have a MacBook Pro, a Netgear Nighthawk Router, and we are using AT&T for our ISP.

HELP!!!!!!