• working on DNS.. links may break temporarily.

Going to start selling Tut-T-Que this year.

Tut-T-Que

Knows what a fatty is.
Reaction score
Its been 4 years in the making. purchasing a pit the end of February from Custom Pits in VA. every year i said, next year im gonna do it. well Im gonna do it. biggest question is....

1. mark up on prices.

do we have a calculator on this or is it more or less rule of thumb. I have kind of did my own calculations of how much it will cost per plate which is approx $3. im figuring an approx sell value of $8-9. At the end of the day, im doing this more as a hobby. I work as a correctional officer full time. love to bbq and want to have others taste what i have to give. Not really looking full time. more or less vending at fairs and catering here and there. with that said, any input would be greatly appreciated.

You need to be at a minimum food cost x 3 in business for concessions and even higher for catering. If you are doing as a hobby consider all of the expense associated before taking the leap. You will need business licenses, health dept fees, insurance, litter taxes, food taxes, misc expenses, labor, equipment to purchase and upkeep. We've discussed here before that it takes the same amount of work and expense to operate a part time one day a week barbecue business as it does to operate a full time business. Not trying to discourage you , just consider all of this up front. It's hard work and a considerable investment with many highs and many lows. If it's what you want then go for it!