logo

Meat Temp Before Smoking

Exocet

Knows what a fatty is.
Reaction score
Okay, do you let your meat come to room temp (or slightly below) before going on the smoker, or do you pull it from the fridge and go?

On my UDS, larger cuts seem to suppress the temp a bit and take longer to cook if they are cold. Not too surprising, I guess.

I'm just wondering what other people do?

No more time on the counter than necessary to get the pit running right. Mostly about an hour

I am no pro but I let beef come up close to room temp but not chicken or pork.

Fridge to smoker, I didn't find any real gains by warming meat up first, I even tried extra cooling in the freezer not freezing it but cooling it extra, I think it's something that you will see more on grub network than BBQ

All ill say is for brisket its easiest to trim cold. if it sits or not after that is marginal

Okay, do you let your meat come to room temp (or slightly below) before going on the smoker, or do you pull it from the fridge and go?

On my UDS, larger cuts seem to suppress the temp a bit and take longer to cook if they are cold. Not too surprising, I guess.

I'm just wondering what other people do?

Stick a probe in the center of a butt and then put it on your counter and see how long it actually takes to come to "room temp" around 70 degrees. Takes a long time (more than a few hours). If you are actually letting raw bigger meats come to room temp there can food safety issues :becky:.

Usually just take meat out of fridg, rub and then start the coals. Usually about 30-45 min until cooker is ready.

I put the rub on my butts the night before. Ribs get rubbed a couple hours before. Both go from the fridge to the smoker. I think the meat takes in more smoke which we like when it is put on the smoker cold. Now steaks and chops get left on the counter for a couple hours before grilling.