• working on DNS.. links may break temporarily.

• I need help! Curing (pink salt) question

Phrasty

Babbling Farker
Reaction score
For some of you curing experts out there I'm hoping I can get an answer on this issue I'm having...

I've been curing my own hams now for the past 3 years and never really had any problems... But this year something strange is happening! AND IT'S DRIVING ME FARKING NUTS!!!

OK as I said I've done quite a few hams in the past.. I think I'm pretty specific about my recipe. My curing recipes are all in weight. I realized I'll be doing a bit of curing so last year Dec. I bought a 5lb batch of Cure #1 from a reliable online store. The cure worked great last year but this week I did a sample ham to give away as samples to get orders and it wasn't pink AT FARKIN ALL!

My question is this... does pink salt have a shelf life? I did bacon last week and the cure worked great... WHY THE HECK did it not work on my sample ham??? :mad2::mad2::mad2:

I used approx. 40g of pink salt to a gallon of water in addition to the salt (kosher), sugar and spices. I did a 10lb boneless shoulder for the ham, I injected it with the brine and added another 1/2 gallon to the meat in a zip top bag and cured it for 10 days. There was only about 1/2"-3/4" pink ring on the ham... could have been a farkin smoke ring for all I know. I've searched the entire internet & I'm waiting for new info to be posted to look THAT up... :doh: Yeah that was a bad joke...

I need help guys... Why is my brine not working??? I'm desperate... I have money & my reputation riding on this cuz I already have orders for the season! I'm farking stressin if you haven't picked up on that yet...

Thanks in advance.
Cheers.