UDS Pork Butt without Foil?

Thawley

Take a breath!
Reaction score
What say you Brethren? Do any of you smoke your butts without the Texas crutch?

I ask this fresh off the success of my first unwrapped brisket, which turned out rather well and was far less hassle. Is there any greater chance of disaster with unwrapped pork than with beef?

Just depends on how much time I have with the foil issue. Cooked a lot of butts without foil they aways come out delicious. I like the bark better if you keep the temps from spiking too much. Give er a shot, then you'll know. REMEMBER PICS!!!!!!!!

I have committed to myself that the next brisket and butt I smoke will be done without foiling!

Cooked a lot of butts without foil they aways come out delicious. I like the bark better if you keep the temps from spiking too much.
That's just the reasurance I was looking for. I'm holding steady between 230-240 degrees.

REMEMBER PICS!!!!!!!!
Don't hold your breath. I'm a commercial photographer and today's my day off...

i dont like foil for the same reason you dont get a good bark

John, Brother....do You Know How Excited The Brethren Would Be To See Professional Pics Of Q!:mrgreen:!!!! Please Please Please:wink:

John, Brother....do You Know How Excited The Brethren Would Be To See Professional Pics Of Q!:mrgreen:!!!! Please Please Please:wink:
Do a search of Rick's Tropical Delight's threads... That's as good as it gets folks. If he doesn't have that stuff listed with a stock photography agency, he should. I shoot cars. I'll leave food photography to the experts.

Rick's the man.

You are right on about RTD and his photo abilities. He would make a chrome bumper look tasty.