What am I getting myself into?

jonah28

Found some matches.
Reaction score
Hi,

Basic question: Should I restore or replace my Rec Tec?

When replacing a few components, I've noticed rust under the fire pot which is in the center of the barrel and some rust on the exterior. The paint is also chipping on the exterior.

I think I'd have to strip it down and repaint the exterior and interior and replace more of the components. I'd save approximately $800 and could do a pretty cool custom paint job.

Is a smoker refurb a major undertaking that will keep me from getting back to smoking? It's a project I'd like to finish in a weekend or two, and it's something I have no experience doing.

I'd like to hear what my smoker bros think.

Thanks!

The refurb is doable, I'd say deeper question is whether you are satisfied with Que coming off of it. If you're happy, then I'd say save 800 clams for buying meat. If there's room for improvement then maybe a new cooker is in order. That's when this thread will probably light up more

The refurb is doable, I'd say deeper question is whether you are satisfied with Que coming off of it. If you're happy, then I'd say save 800 clams for buying meat. If there's room for improvement then maybe a new cooker is in order. That's when this thread will probably light up more

This is important, since it will take time to do the job properly. Do you have another cooker you can use meanwhile? A couple of weeks can be a long time without cooking during the nice weather. All I have is two kettles, and have to have at least one of them available year round.

For the experience , go refurb. Skill and lessons learnt might prove invaluable in the future. Either way you can't go wrong. Just my pennys worth.