• working on DNS.. links may break temporarily.

Liquid smoke, Anyone?

A

AlaskaGent

Hello, All,
I'm new to the Brethren and this is my first post. Actually I went to the recipes section and learned I had to post a few times before I can get access. I'm living in Northern Thailand where pork and chicken are plentiful, cheap and good. Beef, not so much IMHO. Anyway, I splurged on a Weber 22 1/2 " kettle and so far that's my only cooking apparatus. Wood chips are generally available (alder, mesquite and hickory). Not sure about cherry. I just had a friend bring back from the States a bottle of commercial liquid smoke. Won't mention the brand name for fear of violating some term and condition that I swore I read and accepted. What Do you guys think of liquid smoke as an additive to BBQ sauce or as a marinade? And please tell me I'm not banned as a heretic! Thanks for any and all replies. AlaskaGent

Welcome !!!

if you have access to wood chips to use in the kettle, liquid smoke is not necessary. Your meat will already be properly smoked using the chips, so to make the sauce/marinade with smoke would be unnecessary.

warning - liquid smoke is the equivalent of using goat urine here.. or using lighter fluid to start
your fire.

Be gentle guys - he's new.. and it was a gift to him !!

Welcome

Liquid smoke it a no-go. You have so much beautiful food over there, I can see the attraction to BBQ and I would love to take note of your recipes plus some of the things you come up with to cook.

Again,welcome to the Brethren please pull up a chair and stay a while.

Welcome
Did you sign in at Cattle Call? That would be the first thing to do.