Wood type advice needed for upcoming Shirley.....

Lobsterbake

Full Fledged Farker
Reaction score
Hello,

My Shirley pit will be built next month and I am trying to find a good firewood supplier in North GA. I am new to using an offset so have some questions:

What type of wood do you recommend? Hickory, Oak, Mesquite, etc. Fruit woods (apple, cherry, etc) Do you mix - for example Oak with Cherry when smoking, etc.

What is a good price for says a 1/2 chord delivered as a general rule?

How do I tell if I am getting seasoned wood?

Basically - any and everything you can offer regarding sourcing firewood, type, price, quality, size, etc.

I live in North Georgia if anyone lives near and has a good source they can provide.

Thanks for any & all input!

Mark

I would try Craigslist for wood. A lot of them out there, at least here in North Texas. As for wood, I have been testing out oak and peach. Oak is a good base wood but you are welcome to try what is local in your area.

All them Woods. Mixing is Good. Fruit with Oak ,Pecan or Hickory or mix in some Mesquite. Seasoned wood is grey and "Tonks" when 2 pieces are banged together. You can buy a moisture meter for $30-$40. Fully seasoned about 10-15% moisture but 0-25% would be Fine.

I like the subtlety of fruit woods. Being there in the Mecca of the Peach, I'd say go with what's locally source-able. Georgia Peach wood is what made Myron Mixon famous.

A Shirley firebox can handle just about anything. I love this cooker so much. We get gouged in Colorado so I paid a mighty $300 for a 1/2 cord of wood :( Nevertheless, I can vouch for the quality of my supplier here so I figure I'm paying for wood that I can trust.

For the initial seasoning burn, I was obsessive. I did a 10-12 hour overnight burn in the middle of a snow storm. I used only peach/apple wood, and I do believe that the essence of fruit flavor got into the pores of the metal. My Que has never been better!!