Sealing WSM

Ringburner

Full Fledged Farker
Reaction score
Afternoon folks,

I've just lit the WSM (for the third time this week!!!) and I can't help but notice that it is very poorly sealed. Smoke pours out from around the charcoal door and also from around the lid.
I've seen this:
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Gasket-Webe...327955?hash=item27c295e513:g:k3oAAOxy63FSxPTp

But taking into account the exchange rate and postage it ends up being over $60 NZD. Being a broke Paramedic I think it's unlikely the Wife (read: Boss) is going to let the credit card out of her sight long enough to complete this transaction!

Has anyone out there figured out a solution to this using materials that might be available form the hardware store (we have Bunnings, similar to your Lowes only smaller). I'm not fussed if it's not pretty, I'm a function not form guy....

TIA

The middle could be out of round. It will effect the door as well. You just may need to give it a good hug. Measure the top and bottom along 4 points of the axis. If over 1/8 th inch out of round, cut a piece of 2x4 and rotate it around the top, middle and bottom.

The middle could be out of round. It will effect the door as well. You just may need to give it a good hug. Measure the top and bottom along 4 points of the axis. If over 1/8 th inch out of round, cut a piece of 2x4 and rotate it around the top, middle and bottom.

Thanks, just using the Eyeometer it looks like it could be out of round!! It's too hot to do anything about right now but I'll have a play with it tomorrow.....

I would encourage you to check out this post by THoey1963, back when he was running a WSM:

http://www.bbq-brethren.com/forum/showthread.php?t=201917

How many cooks have you done in your WSM? I'm asking because as far as the lid goes, the more of a gunk build-up it gets the tighter that seal is. The door is another matter.

Thanks I'll check out that thread.