Looking at a new Shirley - NEED HELP

mbrass

Knows what a fatty is.
Reaction score
After a month of reading threads, I finally clicked the Register button.

About me: Cook for 2-6 people, 2-3 times a month, for the past 3 years on a RecTec - I'm a Rookie (I've been cooking for much longer - grilling, frying, etc.). I love my RecTec. Easy to use and with the addition of my A-MAZE-N tube smoker, I get smoke flavor and a decent smoke ring. Also purchased a Fire Pit from Wilke's Bada** Pits (look them up) to cook over an open flame (makes great Santa Maria Style Tri-Tip).

What I "need": I say "need" because my wife doesn't think I need another toy. My first thought was to get an XL BGE, but it's also "too convenient" and perhaps too close to what I can do on my RecTec. I really want to learn the art of smoking. I looked at just about every Pitmaster I could find in Texas (Klose, Gator, East Texas, Jambo), and after my research, it seems like SF is the way to go (8-9 hour drive from Dallas, but it seems worth the trip). Due to my situation, I am looking at a 24x42 Patio Model (gives me the ability to cook for a large party, but also not too much of a fuel hog for when I cook for 2 people). Someday I would like to compete and would use this to do so. If this was a perfect world, I would quit corporate life and open a BBQ stand/food truck.

Hoping you can help:
- Do you think 24x42 Cabinet is the right size? Is the 24x36 too small (I don't know if I'll ever do a whole hog (50 lb.), but it sounds fun)
- Would you add a griddle top and direct access (from above) to the firebox (for searing a steak, hamburgers, etc.), or an attached warmer?
- Would you forego both of the above for a 3/8 firebox?
- Would you get the barrel single door (instead of the cabinet) to allow budget for upgraded firebox and griddle top or warmer?