Rib tips

twatsonr1

Full Fledged Farker
Reaction score
Anyone have advice on how to cook rib tips? How long do they take? Thanks, it's my first time lol.

Same as ribs but take less time. Bend dun work as well on them so go with the pick test.

pierce the meat between the cartilage and it should go in like butter.

I trim and Eat the tips as a snack and a cooks treat while the ribs cook.

Tooth pick test works for me. Question: If you were to tip someone for giving you a tip on how to cook tips, does that make it a tri tip?

Not a BBQ use....but I generally cut that section off the spares and save it for when I'm making meatballs and gravy. Brown the rib tips in olive oil and let them simmer in tomato sauce. Really adds some porkaliciousness to a pot of meatballs and gravy!

Just put 5lbs on an hour ago. Here on the south side of Chicago tips are more popular than ribs. Smok'em just as you do regular spare ribs. Takes me about 4-5 hours at 250-275 on the UDS. They come out a little dark but taste great. You might want to foil at the 2-3 hour mark if presentation is an issue.

Have used Simply Marvelous and Oakridge with great results but today I'm using Tony Chachere which is excellent with higher temps.

Till they pass the bend test!

Am I doing this right? :mrgreen:

Hehe :becky:. I like you :clap2:.

Pretty good. You just have to be a little more condescending in the fact that they had to ask doesn't really even warrant a reply from those "in the know" :clap:. But keeping it short to "Till they past the bend test!" with no further explanation was perfect. I always feel a "nuff said" only enhances it more :laugh:.

Ok back to being serious :crazy:. When I normally cook tips it's on my offset and I roll 300-325 and they are done in 2.5-3hrs. They seem to take just a little less overall time than St. Louis.

Hehe :becky:. I like you :clap2:.