Trailer electricity

Scuffletown Smokers

Knows what a fatty is.
Reaction score
Right now I just have 110 hookup in my trailer. Last year, it seemed like we blew breakers at every comp. to further my complications... I'd like to add a 10cu ft fridge.
Right now I'm powering inside lights, gurus, warming plate, and a portable AC/heater.
i have an electrician in the family... Should I switch to 30amp? Do I need a breaker inside the trailer? Is it as easy as switching my 110 plug with a 30 amp?

I'm not an electrician, but I do know that the current wiring into your non 30 amp panel is not adequate for 30amp. So you would need to change that wiring and and a 30A panel.

I do not cook in a lot of comps, but the ones I do usually provide basic 15A service only. I believe only those that accommodate motor homes will offer 30A service. Others may have a better view.

Around here getting 30A service at a competition is difficult and the ones who do offer it charge an arm and a leg.

I've had two different trailers and have never blown a breaker at a competition. You may want to have your electrician relative take a look at what you have and figure out why you are blowing the breakers.

That warming plate and your heat and a/c are likely doing you in. Add up the wattage on those items. You want to stay at or under 80% of 15 amps if that is what you're provided which is 1440 watts assuming 120 volts. Make sure you're using a 12 gauge cord for this and try to keep it under 100'.

Are you tripping breakers in the trailer or the power distribution breakers at the site?

I'm currently building out my trailer right now. I too have just a 120v plug that runs the lights and 3 outlets.

I've purchased a 4000w Inverter, that will be run off of 4 Deep Cycle 6v Batteries rigged in Series (24V)

This will effectively run,

Point of use hot water tank (2.5 Gal) 12.5 Amps for 1500 W and the water pump.

Fridge, 120v 4.6 amps for 552 W