prices for ribs

scottjess

Knows what a fatty is.
Reaction score
Hi guys

I am new to the US and have been looking at prices of ribs since arriving 3 weeks ago. For winter is $13 high for a rack of spares? that is the average price I could find in the supermarkets here in Reno.

I am imagining that the price will be lower in the summer?

thanks.

You have to tell us how big the rack is, really meaty spares that might be a good price. really small trimmed ones that might be expensive.

You are better off giving the price/lb. Right now, in KC, a couple stores are running sales on spares @ $1.99/lb which seems to be decent for this time of year IMO.

I will get the prices for you :) going to be picking up a couple of racks for dinner.

At the local grocery store here they're $6.99/lb. :shock: :crazy: At BJ's or Costco it's normally $3.49/lb and $2.99/lb on special.

I've been getting untrimmed spare ribs for $2.49 a pound and baby backs for $3.99 a pound.

Right now here in NJ, two local butchers have them on special at $1.99 a pound for pork spare ribs (not Baby Backs).

I just bought 2 cases for Superbowl Sunday.

Hi guys

I am new to the US and have been looking at prices of ribs since arriving 3 weeks ago. For winter is $13 high for a rack of spares? that is the average price I could find in the supermarkets here in Reno.

I am imagining that the price will be lower in the summer?

thanks.

Seems like its a bit higher in the winter here in Michigan. Right now its $2.49/lbs for spare, and $4.69/lbs for baby back. I buy from a meat counter, rather than packaged slabs, however, I would imagine your package should have a lbs breakdown.

-Dan

in New Zealand I was paying $6.35 for scrawny ribs, some of them were even shiners.

I usually get them at the Reno Costco and they are usually $2.79 - $2.99 lb for spares.

in New Zealand I was paying $6.35 for scrawny ribs, some of them were even shiners.